Maintain a user's session

  • Updated

Optimizely Configured Commerce website sign-in pages can present users with a Remember Me or Keep Me Signed In checkbox.

Remember Me

This lets users access certain content on the website without the need to repeatedly sign in. However, if users visit the website from a different browser or device, they must sign in to the website. If they sign out from the site in the same browser or device, they must re-authenticate. If they try to access their account pages or complete checkout, they must re-authenticate.

The following is true for users who have selected the Remember Me checkbox, are returning to the site using the same browser or device, and are within the defined number of days allowed per session (see the Enable Remember Me or Keep Me Signed In section to control the session duration):

  • Users can see all pricing and availability, the cart, and any wishlists as if they were signed into the website.
  • Pricing is calculated based on the user's default bill to/ship to address. If no default bill to/ship to exists, the system calculates prices based on the last selected address.
  • If you do not enable additional pages to be remembered, users must re-authenticate to access addresses, account settings, user administration, budget management, invoice history, job quotes, order history, order approval, requisitions, quote history, saved orders, or checkout.

Keep Me Signed In

Keep Me Signed In maintains user sessions the same way that the Remember Me feature does, but with the addition of retaining the user's session when they access their account pages or complete checkout. This means that when you enable this feature, user sessions will be kept active, without limitations, for the number of days defined in the Days To Retain User field.

Enable Remember Me or Keep Me Signed In

There are two settings: one is to enable or disable the feature and the other determines the number of days to retain the user's session cookie.

To enable the feature:

  1. Go to Administration > Settings > Account Management.
  2. In the Website Security section, expand the Remember Me / Keep Me Signed In drop-down list and select Remember Me or Keep Me Signed In.
  3. The Days To Retain User field displays and defaults to 30 days. Adjust this value if desired.
  4. (Optional) If you selected Remember Me, an additional Pages To Be Remembered field displays. The default page remembered with this feature is My Lists. To include additional pages, click Select Pages, select the desired pages, and click Save. All pages that you select include their subpages.

Disable Remember Me or Keep Me Signed In

  1. Go to Administration > Settings > Account Management.
  2. In the Website Security section, expand the Remember Me / Keep Me Signed In drop-down list and select Not Applicable.