Clear the index and reindex

  • Updated
This topic is intended for administrators and developers with administration access rights in the Optimizely Content Management System (CMS).

You can clear (that is, remove) the Optimizely Search & Navigation index and statistics. You typically do so during website development, after making extensive changes to content properties, or when reorganizing or removing content. You might also clear statistics after testing new functionality.

After you clear the index, reindex the website.

Image: Editing website index

Clear the index

When clearing the index, you remove content from it and also have an option to clear statistics.

Index clearing operations are permanent. You cannot reverse them.
  1. From the edit view, select Search & Navigation > Configure > Index.
  2. Click Clear index.
  3. Reindex the website. 

Reindex the website

Scheduling or manually starting reindex jobs is usually unnecessary, as content changes automatically trigger them.
  1. Log into CMS admin view.
  2. Go to Scheduled Jobs.
  3. Select the Optimizely Search & Navigation Content Indexing job.

    You can start the job manually or on a schedule. See also: Scheduled jobs.

Reindex your site under any of the following conditions:

  • After you clear the index because it is empty.
  • If automatic indexing fails, or content must be reindexed for another reason.
  • You changed content access rights because automatic indexing does not detect those changes.

Remove statistics

  1. From the edit view, select Search & Navigation> Configure > Index.
  2. Click Clear statistics.

If you clear statistics, the statistics view is empty until new statistics are collected.