Change Log

  • Updated
This topic is for Optimizely Content Management System (CMS) administrators, and developers with administration access rights.

By default, changes to pages, files, and directories are logged in the Change Log system in Settings Tools. You can filter the information in the change log, making it easier to find relevant information.

Settings-Change-log.png

In the change log, view changed items by filtering on one or several of the following options:

Field name Description
Change date from Select a date and a time to view only items changed after this time.
Change date to Select a date and a time to view only items that were changed before this time.
Category From the Category drop-down list, you can select an activity type:
  • Content to display changed content items. This option displays items such as pages, blocks, and media.
  • Message to display changed messages. (Messages are a type of activity in the Projects feature.)
  • Project to display changes that are associated with a project.
  • Approval to display changes that are associated with a content approval sequence.

If you do not select an option from the drop-down list, you will see changes to all types of activities.

Website developers can configure which categories are available so that you may see other categories than the ones mentioned here.
Action You can filter on actions, such as Delete, Publish and Rejected.

Website developers can configure which actions are available.

Maximum number of items per page Limits the displayed number of items on the page. Click the Previous and Next arrows to browse through the list of items.
Start with sequence number Enter a specific sequence number to start listing the items in the change log. For example, if you have performed a previous filtering, you can use the sequence number from that occasion and repeat that filtering.
Changed by To filter for a specific user, enter the Optimizely CMS user name.

Click Read to run the query. A list of matching change log items appear.

To remove change log items that are more than one month old and without dependencies, use the Change log auto truncate scheduled job.