Edit catalog entries

  • Updated

After you import products and variants, you can edit, archive, or delete them.

Properties for products and variants are similar, but pricing and inventory information is only defined for variants. See Catalog entry properties.

Changes to related entries, pricing, and inventory information are immediately published and visible on the website and are not part of the publishing flow.

Catalog-specific editing options

The catalog item list has Select view with additional editing options. Use these to edit and access the Inventories, Pricing, Categories, and Related Entries (only available for catalog entries).

Edit multiple catalog entries

Work with multiple catalog entries at once by selecting items and using options, such as Cut, Copy, Paste, or Delete.

Sort catalog entries

Sorting means changing the display order of items in a category. This affects the Catalog view.

When creating your page templates, a developer determines how to arrange the items on a page. Sort order is one option. Sorting can also change the arrangement of items on your website's pages.

To sort catalog entries, follow these steps.

  1. Go to the category that contains items you want to sort.
  2. Click the Sort mode button. This enables sort mode. A drag handle displays beside every eligible item's checkbox.
  3. Select one or more items whose sort order you want to change.
  4. Drag and drop items to the new position.

For a single item, you can open its context menu (...) and select Move Up or Move Down.

  • Changing an item's sort order affects it within that category only.
  • Sort mode remains enabled until you click the button again, even if you go to other categories.
  • You cannot sort categories.

Sort variants

To sort a catalog entry's variants, follow these steps.

  1. Select the catalog entry.
  2. Click Select view > Variants.

  3. Drag and drop variants to a new position.

Duplicate catalog entries

You can duplicate an existing entry to create one. It gets a unique ID, and you can edit the following details and then move the entry to a different catalog tree location.

  • If you duplicate a category, Optimizely Customized Commerce creates a code, name in URL, and SEO URL based on the original. The name, internal name, and content are the same as the original. Sub-entries in the original category, such as products and variants, are not duplicated.
  • If you duplicate a product, variant, package, or bundle, Optimizely Customized Commerce creates a URL name, SEO URL, and product code based on the original. Other information (name, internal name, and content) is the same as the original.

You can duplicate one or several catalog entries. The following example duplicates multiple variants and moves them to a different category.

  1. Open the desired catalog or category node to see the items you want to duplicate.
  2. Pin the catalog tree so it remains open.
  3. Select items to be duplicated.
  4. Drag selections to the desired catalog tree location.

  5. Click Duplicate. The selected entries are duplicated in the selected location.

You can also use the List menu's Copy and Paste options to duplicate multiple entries or the Context menu's Copy and Paste options to duplicate a catalog entry.

Move catalog entries

Moving a catalog entry is the same as assigning it to a different primary category. 

Translate catalog entries

Like other types of content, catalog entries can exist in multiple languages. See Multi-language management.

Archive and delete catalog entries

Archiving catalog entries lets you remove them from your catalog without permanently deleting them. This gives you the ability to restore or republish them later if needed.

  1. Select a catalog item.
  2. Click the options menu (...).
  3. Select Archive. Because archived content is automatically unpublished from the website, you receive a notification if the content is linked from other content in case unpublishing creates broken links. A prompt displays showing you any associated variants with that item. Click View to view the variants.

    ArchivePrompt.png

  4. Click Yes, Move to Archive when ready.

You can also select one or more entries and click the Archive icon.

View archived entries

  1. Open the navigation pane.
  2. Click the Archive icon.

    ViewArchive.png

This opens the Archive section where you can Delete or Restore entries by clicking the appropriate icon.

ArchiveSection.png

Restore entries

Select the entries you want to restore. Click Restore Selected.

ArchivePage.png

You may be prompted to choose where the entry should go. Choose the appropriate location and click Select.

Choose-where-to-restore.png

Delete entries

Click Delete All to permanently delete all archived entries. Click Delete beside an archived entry to delete it permanently. You can also select one or more entries and click Delete Selected.

You can use a scheduled job to automatically delete archived content regularly.

When deleting a product or a variant, the following happens:

  • If a product or variant is deleted, all links from other catalog entries are removed.
  • If a product with associated variants is deleted, the variants are left associated with the deleted product's category.
  • Any children are also deleted.