Manage collaborators

  • Updated
  • Optimizely Web Experimentation
  • Optimizely Personalization
If your organization migrated to Opti ID, you must manage users in Opti ID. See the Opti ID user documentation.

In Optimizely Web Experimentation, users are called collaborators. Collaborators have different levels of permission. Use the collaborator roles to manage user-based permissions and access to your Optimizely Web projects. These roles are especially useful when multiple people are working on the same project or campaign.

This article is about collaborator roles in Optimizely Web Experimentation. If you are looking for information on Optimizely Feature Experimentation, see Collaborators.

The collaborator roles are:

  • Administrators – Full access to all projects and account billing information, including access to create projects. They can also add and remove other administrators. Administrators are one on every project. If you change an administrator to any other role, they lose all privileges on other projects.

  • Project owners – Create, edit, publish, start, and pause experiments and campaigns. A project can have more than one project owner. Project owners can also create projects and invite editors and viewers to the projects they own.

    If you want to restrict collaborator access to specific projects, give them the Project Owner role for those projects. This way, they can only access the experiments within the specific projects to which they have been assigned.
  • Publishers – Create, edit, publish, pause, and unpause experiments and campaigns; view results; and create and modify audiences, metrics, and pages. A Publisher can create, start, and stop experiments but cannot change the configuration settings for the project, such as the snippet.

  • Restricted publishers – Only use pre-made extensions to create experiments and cannot use the Visual Editor or code editor. Otherwise, they have the same abilities as a Publisher.

  • Editors – Create pages and events; create and modify audiences, and create and edit non-running campaigns. Editors can create experiments, but can't start them. They can also view results.

  • Restricted editors – Only use pre-made extensions and cannot use the Visual Editor or code editor. Otherwise, they have the same abilities as an Editor.

  • Viewers – Review campaigns and view results.

Most collaborator roles in Optimizely Web Experimentation are project-specific, allowing you to have different collaborator statuses across different projects. However, this also means that you must manage collaborator roles per project. If you want to change someone's Editor status to a Viewer in multiple projects, you must do this for every project separately.

The Administrator role is the exception. This role gives complete access to the entire account, including all linked projects. If you change a Collaborator's role to an Administrator, this applies across all projects. Similarly, if you downgrade the status of an existing Administrator, this applies to all projects.

Access by collaborator role

Roles are listed in order of most permissions (left) to least (right).

 Experiments and campaigns 

  Administrator Project Owner Publisher Restricted Publisher Editor Restricted Editor Viewer

View

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Edit

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

Yes**

Yes*

No

Create

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

Yes

No

No

Start and pause

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

No

No

No

Publish

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No No No

Archive and delete

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

Create catalogs and recommenders

Yes

No

No

No

No

No

No

Pages

  Administrator Project Owner Publisher Restricted Publisher Editor Restricted Editor Viewer

View

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Create

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Edit and archive

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

No

 Events and tags

 

Administrator Project Owner Publisher Restricted Publisher Editor Restricted Editor Viewer

View events

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Create events

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Edit and archive events

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

No

 Extensions

 

Administrator Project Owner Publisher Restricted Publisher Editor Restricted Editor Viewer

Create only

No

No

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Create and edit

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

No

 Audiences

  Administrator Project Owner Publisher Restricted Publisher Editor Restricted Editor Viewer

View

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Create and edit

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

 Results

 

Administrator Project Owner Publisher Restricted Publisher Editor Restricted Editor Viewer

View

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Reset

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

No

Project Settings 

 

Administrator Project Owner Publisher Restricted Publisher Editor Restricted Editor Viewer

Add collab-orators

Yes

Yes

No No No No No

Change snippet settings

Yes

Yes***

No

No

No

No

No

Inte-grations

Yes

Yes

No No No No No

Create projects

Yes

Yes

No No No No No

 Account Settings

 

Administrator Project Owner Publisher Restricted Publisher Editor Restricted Editor Viewer

View

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Edit Cross-Origin Settings

Yes

No No No No No No

View and pay bills

Yes

No No No No No No

* Can only make changes within a variation using extensions

** Can draft changes but cannot publish them

*** On projects for which they are an owner

Add a collaborator

InviteCollaborators.png

  1. Go to Settings > Collaborators.

  2. Click Invite a Collaborator...

  3. Enter the collaborator's email address and select their label (role) and language.

  4. Click Invite to multiple projects... and select the projects you want to invite the collaborator to.

  5. Click Invite.

Remove a collaborator

  1. Go to Settings > Collaborators.

  2. Click the name of the collaborator you want to remove.

  3. Click Remove From Project or Remove From Account in the Collaborator Details panel.

  4. Click Remove From This Project or Remove From All Projects.
    remove-collab-2.png