When content is restored to a previous published version, metadata is not restored with the content. When restoring to a point version (a non published version), the metadata is restored with the content. This article explains how to restore content properly to avoid losing metadata.
Locate and restore the non-published version of content instead of the published version. The published version is functionally identical to the previous non-published version, except the non-published one retains the metadata.
To identify a non-published version, either look for the edits without the arrow symbol or look under the version column and find a version that does not end in .0 .