Remove items

  • Updated

This article describes the three ways in which a user can manage the removal of items. It is important to understand what actually happens when a particular method is chosen, because choosing the wrong method to remove a item can have undesirable results.

There are 3 distinct ways in which a user can remove a item:

  • Delete –Deleting completely removes the item from the database and should only be done if the item was added erroneously or is a duplicate.
  • Archive – Archiving is a essentially a soft delete, that removes the item from the site, but does not delete it from the database. Products that are archived can quickly be restored.
  • Deactivate – Deactivating, similar to archiving, is a temporary method; however, it is tied to a specific date. This can be useful if the product is a promotional item that is only available for a limited time.

Because the process is slightly different for working with singular items versus multiple items, both processes are described below.

After performing any of the following actions, it is essential that the Product Search Index is rebuilt. To perform a Product Search Index rebuild, in the Primary Header, click More Options and click Rebuild Product Search Index.

Manage single items

Delete an item

  1. Go to the list where an item is to be deleted.
  2. Select the item to be deleted.
  3. In the Primary List Header, click Delete .
  4. In the confirmation window, click Delete.

Archive an item

  1. Go to the list where an item is to be archived.
  2. Select the item to be deleted.
  3. In the Primary List Header, click Delete.
  4. In the confirmation window, click Archive .

Deactivate an item

  1. Go to the list where an item is to be deactivated.
  2. Click Edit of the product to be deactivated.
  3. In the Details tab, in the Deactivate On field, enter a date and time.
  4. In the Primary List Header, click Save.

Manage multiple items

When Deactivating multiple items is necessary, a slightly different process is followed. However, as is shown below, Deleting and Archiving is essentially the same process, with the only difference being that all items need to be selected prior to clicking Delete.

Deletemultiple items

  1. Go to the list where items are to be deleted.
  2. Select the items to be deleted.
  3. In the Primary List Header, click Delete.
  4. In the confirmation window, click Delete.

Archive Multiple Items

  1. Go to the list where items are to be archived.
  2. Select the items to be archived.
  3. In the Primary List Header, click Delete.
  4. In the confirmation window, click Archive.

Deactivate multiple items

The difference with deactivation is that when multiple items are selected and the Edit button is clicked, the selected items are brought forward as a group to be clicked through using the Save and Next button.

  1. Go to the list where items are to be deactivated.
  2. Select the items to be deactivated.
  3. In the Primary List Header, Click Edit.

    In order for this process to work as described, you must not click one of the Edit buttons located next to each item.

  4. In the Details tab, in the Deactivate On field, enter a date and time.
  5. In the Primary Header, click Save and Next.
  6. When finished, click Done.

The Clear button, when displayed, serves as an undo, and reverts changes made previous to the last save. It does not clear the form.