Delete and restore content

  • Updated

Optimizely Content Management System (CMS) has advanced support for restoring deleted content such as pages, blocks, folders, and media files. When you remove content, you move it to trash; you do not delete it. From there, you can restore the content or permanently delete it.

delete-restore-1.png

Optimizely Customized Commerce does not support trash management when deleting catalog entries.

Move content to trash

Select the content to delete and Move to Trash from the context menu.

Content that is moved to trash is automatically unpublished from the website. When moving content to trash, you receive a notification if the content is linked to from other content on the website because the deletion might result in broken links.

delete-restore-2.png

Content versions are not supported by trash management. So, when deleting a version in the versions gadget, the version is permanently deleted.

Restore content

  1. Select View Trash from the panel settings in the navigation or assets panel.

    delete-restore-3.png

  2. Hover over the desired content item in the list and click Restore. Confirm the restoration, and the content is restored to its original place and republished. (You must restore content before you can edit it.)

    delete-restore-4.png

Delete content permanently

Select View Trash from the panel settings in the navigation or assets panel. Click Empty Trash to delete the trash content permanently (may require administrative access rights). Using a scheduled job, you can automatically empty the trash at regular intervals.

If you want to delete just one item, hover over the item and click Delete. If that single item has children, these children are also deleted permanently.