Manage workflows

  • Updated

A workflow lets you set up processes that meet your team's specific collaboration, approval, and publishing requirements for types of tasks, content formats, and other use cases. Custom workflows are for teams with more complex content collaboration requirements (such as working with an editorial team or an agency that may require a mandatory approval step before publishing content).

Workflows are accessible only to account administrators. If you need to be an administrator, contact another administrator (or email support@optimizely.com).

Create and edit a workflow

  1. As an Admin, go to your avatar > Workflows.
  2. To edit existing workflows, click Edit.
  3. Click Create New Workflow, and the configuration window for the workflow will display. 

Add title and description

Enter a title for the workflow. Optionally, enter a description of the workflow. The Enable Flexible workflow option is selected by default to let you update the workflow on the task page. You can select other options.

Create-workflow-title-section.png

Apply Smart duration

Smart duration automatically adjusts multiple due dates in subsequent steps if someone completes a step ahead of or later than its due date. It also adjusts the task due dates if the previous step was completed or skipped on a different date than its assigned due date. Activating Smart duration for an existing workflow impacts only tasks that you create with that workflow.

Add a step and apply actions

Click Add Step to add a step to your workflow. (Click Add external step to integrate external systems with the workflow.) For tasks that do not require multi-step collaboration, you can leverage a Single-step Workflow, which lets you complete the actions needed to publish or share content.

Steps are unassigned by default. However, in some work processes, a step is done by the same person, such as a legal or editorial review. You can assign someone or a team to a step by clicking the user icon. Select someone from the list or type their name or the name of a team (where team members get notifications).

Create-workflow-steps.png

Step Duration lets you automatically set due dates for common tasks, which CMP applies during task creation. Step duration is optional, but if you set one, you must set a duration for each step in the workflow.

Select one or more of the following workflow actions to apply to a step. You can share the responsibilities of the task with your team by assigning those steps to them.

Action name

Description

Dependency

Find Content

It gives the assignee access to search the library (and marketplace) for content.

No dependency

Write or Edit Content

The assignee can access the Content Editor to write or edit content.

No dependency

Write or Edit Share

The assignee can write or edit in the social share widgets.

No dependency

Set Publish Destination

The assignee can set a Publish Destination (including Feeds, Social Channels).

No dependency

 

The assignee can alter the Publish Date. (Note: If the date is left unaltered, it is published when the task is completed.)

Must be preceded by:

  • Set Publish Destination

Select Image

The assignee can search the library (or marketplace) for content.

Must be preceded by:

  • Find Content

Publish or Share

The assignee can publish the content or share it on social media.

Must be preceded by:

  • Set Publish Destination
  • Set Publish Date

Approve

The assignee can approve the article.

Must be preceded by any of the following:

  • Find Content
  • Write or Edit Content
  • Write or Edit Share

Edit Fields

The assignee can change fields.

No dependency

People can perform only the specific actions listed within their steps. If you need more than one person to review and edit content, select Write or edit content in multiple steps.

Add a sub-step

Click Add New Sub-Step to add multiple sub-steps for users or teams, and complete in any order when the parent step is the current step.

Create-workflow-substeps.png

Push to library

You can choose to push assets to the library in two ways:

  1. Select the Save assets to the library on step completion checkbox for a workflow step to push assets to the library after someone completes the particular step in the workflow. You can also push assets to the library from within the task. See Content Workspace for more details. 
  2. Select the Automatically push all related assets to library when task is completed checkbox to save the assets in the library after someone completes the entire task.
    Create-workflow-push-to-library.png

You can push the existing modified assets as a new version or as a new asset. You can also push the asset with or without the public URL.

Add a field to a workflow

You can add a field to a workflow to make the specific field visible on the task details page (Fields tab) when someone uses this workflow. Adding a field also helps expedite the add operation of a task because fields identified with a workflow are available when you assign the workflow to the task when adding a task. For example, you may want to ensure that the Department is visible whenever someone uses this workflow so the user can complete it anytime they see it. You can select multiple fields to apply to your workflow.

Create-workflow-add-field-department.png

Mandatory fields ensure your team tags every task at the right time during the task lifecycle. Select the option menu (...) and toggle Mandatory to apply mandatory fields. Label fields offer an additional option when you select Mandatory. You can make labels mandatory At Task Creation or At Task Completion. For example:

Create-workflow-add-field-mandatory.png

See also: Add fields to steps in a workflow.

Order fields for entry

Drag and drop the fields into your desired order.

drag drop screen grab.gif

Set up default publishing channels

You can optionally select default publishing channels for your workflows. When you assign a workflow, the default publishing channels automatically populate in the corresponding task.

Create-workflow-publishing-channels-selected.png

Place publishing channels on a block list

You can optionally prevent channels from appearing as options when it comes to publishing. 

Create-workflow-blacklisted-channels.png

After you configure your workflow, select Save Workflow and your workflow is available to apply to any new tasks.

Delete a workflow

  1. Select avatar > Workflows.
  2. Choose the workflow you want to delete by hovering over the workflow tile and click Edit, which opens the workflow page.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the workflow page and click Delete Workflow (the trash can icon).
  4. Click Delete in the confirmation message.