You can upload and share view access or edit access to library assets and folders with users, teams, and organizations. The campaign, task, and folder permissions inheritance will be respected and users can request the owner of a folder or asset to grant view access or edit access similar to tasks or campaigns.
How folder permissions work in the library
A created folder is private by default. No other users can edit or view it until they are shared by the owner. Create Folder is on the top right in the Library view.
You can share a folders with organizations, teams, and users. You can provide Edit or View access. You can remove the permission for the users also.
If you have edit or view permission to a parent folder, you also have the same permissions to the sub-folders.
You can provide another user with direct edit access to an asset inside the folder even if they have only view access to the folder. You can update the title, upload a new version, edit its labels, and so on. Even if your view access was removed from the folder, you could still view and edit the asset, because of the direct edit access, but you wouldn’t see it in the context of the folder; you would see the asset on your Library home.
How asset permissions work in the library
Assets uploaded to Library Home are private by default. No other users can edit or view them until they are shared by the owner.
Assets uploaded to folders inherit folder permission. If you upload an asset inside a folder, users with edit or view access to the folder get the same level of access to the asset.
If the users, teams or organization have edit access to the folder, they have edit access to all assets and folders in that folder. So, even if someone has a directly shared view access to an asset, if the folder has shared edit access, so does the user. Conversely, if the user has view access to the folder, but direct edit access to the asset, then they could edit this one asset; other assets or folders within the parent folder would only be view access.
You can have access to assets via task permission inheritance. If someone has access to a task (because they were assigned a step or created the task themselves) they have access to the assets in the library created or reused from that task. If you have edit access on the task, you have edit access to the library assets from that task.
Similarly, you also have access to assets via campaign permission inheritance. If you have edit access to the campaign, you have edit access to any assets in the library that were created or reused through tasks under that campaign.
Share a folder you created
You can share edit access and view access to the organization, teams, and other users from the following options.
Sharing assets is similar to sharing folders.
- Folder card option menu
- Folder list view option menu
- Folder side pane Share
- In folder Share
- Send a notification to the users of shared folder access. Select Notify Users before inviting users. Only users that are have the folder shared directly receive a notification email. (This excludes organizations and teams.) Users receive the email and in-app notification about shared access.
Request edit access to a folder
If you have view access to a folder, you can request edit access to the folder via notification in the side pane preview of the folder or within the folder.
You can see the status of your edit access request in the notification pane to the right of the folder, as shown in the screenshot below.
Also, if you have requested edit access to a folder some time ago, you can re-request edit access by clicking Request again.
Request edit access to an asset
If you have view access to an asset, you can request edit access to the asset via notification in the side pane preview of the asset or within the full page preview modal of the asset.
Once you get the edit access to the folder, you will not see the notification again.
You can see the status of your edit access request via notification in the side pane preview of the asset or within the full page preview modal of the asset.
If you have requested edit access to an asset some time ago, click Request again.
If you are the owner of an asset, you can review the access request via email notification.